Home , � Football World Cup: History Facts and Figures

Football World Cup: History Facts and Figures

Football is the most famous game in the entire world and has the most fans compared to other sports. Game’s global regulating body Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) has been arranging the world title every four years since 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 due to the 2nd World War.

FIFA under the presidentship of Jules Rimet wished its own tournament like Olympic Football competition. Amsterdam was the witness when FIFA congress on 28 May 1928 chose to organise the 1st World Cup and in the outcome of these efforts, the inaugural competition was held in Uruguay.

So far, 16 various Nations have hosted 19 World Cup. Uruguay organised inaugural competition and then Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Chile, England, Argentina, United states, South Africa, Brazil and joint-host of 2002 soccer World Cup Japan with South Korea have honour of hosting 1 contest each while Italy, Mexico, France, Germany hosted 2 tournaments each.

In the very first World Cup held in 1930 at Montevideo, Uruguay, 13 teams taken part while 16 and 15 teams took part in the 1934 and 1938 World Cups respectively. Later in 1950, 13 teams contested and 16 teams took part in the world Cups from 1954 to 1978 based on the format. The competition was expanded to 24 teams in 1982 till 1994 World Cup in the united states. Then the structure was revised and 32 teams were permitted to participate in the latter tournaments.

Now the 20th World Cup is going to kick off in Brazil from the 12th of June, regarding 32 teams including defending champs, Spain. This is the first-time in the World Cup records that the competition is being held back to back out side European countries. Bosnia and Herzegovina is the debutant team in 2014 football World Cup.

Brazil is the most successful team with 5 World Cup titles. Italy is at 2nd place with 4 World Cup trophies. Germany has won it for 3 times. Argentina and Uruguay won 2 titles each while France, England and current champions Spain secured one title each. Argentina, England, Italy and France have won their titles on home soil while Sweden, Brazil remained runners up while playing at home.

Including Football 2014 World Cup, Brazil has the record to appear in all of the events of world championship while Germany and Italy have took part in the world cups for 18 times. Germany played ninety-nine matches which are the most matches played by a single team in the entire world Cup while Indonesia played only 1 match. Brazil has record 67 wins out of 97 matches they played in the World Cup and also has the record of winning 7 matches in a single competition in 2002. Mexico lost 24 matches, the most by a team in the World Cup background. Italy has the record of the most wide range of draws — 21.

Now, more records are anticipated to be set or broken in the 20th edition of the Football World Cup.

Tags: ,

0 comments to "Football World Cup: History Facts and Figures"

Leave a comment

You may also like